Starla Lost (Tutorial)


Starla Lost (Tutorial) by R Scott Photography
Starla Lost (Tutorial), a photo by R Scott Photography on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
It’s been a while since I posted an insight into how I do post work on some of my portraits.

This one is a bit tricky as my studio space is quite small. This routinely causes depth of flash issues.

The background is white seamless paper lit by two AB400’s bounced from silver brollies angled down to even out the light for this floor shot. An additional AB800 is shooting straight up to bounce back down from a white ceiling. If Starla was standing, her hair would go "hot" due to depth of flash physics. It is a bad idea with blondes but as her hair is dark I knew I could burn it back in during post.

Her legs extend back into the light wrap danger zone and went "hot" as expected. Light physics (inverse square) again and there is nothing much I can do about that but burn it back in during post. The ceiling light keeps the floor more consistent with the background.

Additionally I used a ABR800 on camera turned way down to light into any shadow areas. Ring Flash makes a wonderful fill light.

To go 255 white I had to adjust the contrast up a notch and dodge selectively.

Starla’s face is pointing away from any key light source except light bouncing back up from the floor so I dodged around her eyes to fix this. It could be done with a snoot but aiming the light precisely would be a lot harder than needed.

There are other things that go into finishing a photo like this. The things I mentioned are just the main things. Cleaning up dust and lint, taking out wrinkles and blemishes, dodging in hair hi-lites, fixing chipped nails, whitening eyes and teeth, on and on…

When you know the behind the scenes work that goes into a finished digital after the shoot is over and the talent has gone home – $10 a finished digital seems like a good deal. One hour of shooting usually equals two hours of finishing work – at least.

If I had a commercial sized studio I could set the lights back much farther and avoid a lot of post work. Maybe I’ll win the lottery.

~~~~~

Have you ever considered modelling – or would you just like some nice pictures for your memories?

I am a Model Photographer located in Brantford, Ontario, Canada and am always looking for experienced models and fresh new faces. I have helped many models get their start and I can help you too.

My rates are quite reasonable and in some cases FREE (I still do occasional TF work for models with experience).

Visit my Tumblr blog where you can view my current work. There are also some valuable pages with my rates and links that can help you prepare for your photoshoot.

randiscott.tumblr.com

If you want to try out as a model or are a professional and want to update your profile – don’t be shy – get in touch and we’ll put something together. I offer studio/outdoor, glamour, body parts, theme, model tests, head shots and discreet.

My Model Mayhem # is: 2125874

Visit there and read some of my testimonials.

~~~~~~

You can get a 30 Day FREE trial on Zivity giving you access to look around at all the beautiful women.

Go here:

www.zivity.com/join/passcode

Type this code in:

alfred8490

and enjoy Zivity Free for 30 days.

One Response to “Starla Lost (Tutorial)”

  1. If some one wants expert view regarding running a blog after that i suggest him/her to
    pay a visit this weblog, Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers

